The Brownies Are Here!

After reading so much about them, I just had to try making these brownies!  Here’s what I needed:

1 can black beans, rinsed

2 bananas

1/3 C. agave nectar

1/4 C. baking cocoa

1 Tbsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 C. sugar (optional)

1/4 C. instant oats

I put everything in the blender (except the oats) and blended it really well.  I chose not to use the optional sugar.

I poured my mixture into an 8×8 baking pan and then folded in the instant oats.

I baked the whole thing at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.  It smelled cinnamon-y, a little banana-y, and chocolate-y!

When they came out I was excited to try one!  It tasted pretty banana-y and maybe not quite sweet enough for me.  I sort of wish that I had included the extra sugar in them.  I had thought about chopping up some dark chocolate I had in the freezer and adding it to the batter and I think I’ll do that next time.  Anyway, I felt like I wanted to add something more to the brownie, so I put a scoop of peanut butter and some chopped almonds with it, threw it in the microwave to soften up the nut butter and smooshed it all together.

nom nom nom nom nom nom nom nom

Soooo, I have big plans for these brownies…I think I will put them with some oats in b-fast to add an extra choco-protein punch in the morning!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Brownies Are Here!

  1. these look pretty good! I will have to try them!

  2. Oh My Goodness! Thanks for reading and commenting! Your blog was the first healthy living/food blog that I ever read! It completely inspired me to start blogging in the first place! I just can’t believe you have read my blog and even commented! You have just made my month, Whit! 🙂

  3. I’m going to be the next to hop on the bean brownie bandwagon. Those look delicious!!

Leave a Reply

