Teacher Appreciation At The Melting Pot

I ate at the melting pot today.

First, the b-fast:

Oats with strawberry preserves, almonds, flax, cinnamon, and almond butter.

First snack was great (and part of it was eaten after school).  Plum with a Naked green machine!  The Naked green machine was eaten after school.

Lunch was seriously amazaballs!  A whole wheat sandwich thin with Sabra hummus, avocado, and tomato.

Avocados are so amazing.  You can shmear them on things, make dip out of them, make them into ice cream, eat them on salads, they are slippery, and full of good fats.  I love them.

Second snack, as I said before, was really just the green machine.  I had packed a banana and peanut butter, but I’ll save that to eat tomorrow.

I came home for a quick run and shower before heading out to teacher appreciation night at The Melting Pot.

My run was really good.  Have you ever felt like your legs were not your own, but somebody else’s.  Somebody much stronger than you, and your body was simply attached to them, enjoying the ride?  That’s how I felt with my run today.  I did 2 miles at 9:50 pace.  Rock.

Then I met up with a bunch of friends for teacher fondu!  I have never been to The Melting Pot, but I was pleasantly surprised.  I was surprised at how yummy it all way, and I was surprised at the choices I made of things to dip into the cheese and choco-sauces.

We basically had a set menu of a choice of cheese fondu, a house salad, and choco-fondu.

Good news, we rocked at the teacher trivia on the back of the menu.

I started with some libation.

First course, cheese.

I dipped carrots, celery, and apples.  There was also some bread which I dipped — but for me, I was able to restrain myself.  Restrain is a not-so-good word.  I didn’t even really have to try.  I was just more interested in eating the veg.  Look at me, making good choices, effortlessly.

This was swiss with sherry and garlic.  Pretty delish.  At this point I had to start holding back on the picture-taking as my camera was running very low on batteries.

Here’s the very yummy house salad.  I got the house dressing which was said to be “sweet and tangy”.  It tasted a lot like the glaze my dad makes for ham.  It’s a mixture of brown sugar, mustard, and my granpa adds ginger ale to his.  It was good on a salad.  I would have never thought of it, but after having this I would try it again.

Then the final, and best, part of the meal came out.  The choco-fondu!  We got regular milk chocolate, cookies and cream (which I thought I wouldn’t like, but tasted like melted cookie batter, YES PLEASE!, and turtle — hello pecans and chocolate!)  It was all great! Especially when dipped with bananas and strawberries.  Yes, I combed the entire 20 ft. table looking for extra bananas — I must make choco-fondu at home just to dip bananas into!

This choco looked like an excerpt out of the Toa Te Ching.

Call the fire department!  The cookies and cream is on fi-yah!

Finally, the amazaballs plate of dessert dippers.

Choco-covered strawberry.  Nom, nom, nom.

Sorry about the blurry picture.  I was going to take another one, but the batteries totally ran out on my little cyber shot.

All in all, I would go back to The Melting Pot — if somebody else was paying.  I feel like I could do it at home on the cheap.  But it was a good time, with good people.  I’m just hoping now that through some warped logic going out on a Monday night will make the week seem shorter…I’ll let you know how that works out 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

