Look At Me!

Blogging two days in a row! It’s like I’m almost back to some sort of routine….almost!

Yesterday was a nice day.  I had to go to a meeting for NEXT SCHOOL YEAR!  Yes, we get started early here.  After the meeting me and two of my teacher-friends went to B&D Mongolian BBQ.  That place was crazy! I had never been to a mongolian BBQ place.  I didn’t take photos because I forgot my camera.

I played soccer on Sunday.

I’m not as good as this lady.  But I could kick it.  So hard, in fact, that I am terribly sore!  Throughout the day I hobbled to and from the bathroom, the laundry room (I did laundry!), and the kitchen.  Kudos to soccer players, you all are amazing athletes.

Speaking of amazing athletes, my hamstring is still killing me — it was certainly not helped by my attempt at soccer.  LUCKILY we went to a bbq with Kellen’s soccer team on Sunday and guess who was there!

Not one, but TWO athletic trainers.  One was the trainer for the UK football team (I think he knows his stuff!) and the other was the cross country trainer for Centre College!

As soon as I learned they were trainers I literally said this:

“You’re a trainer?”

“yes”

“You’ve got to help me! I’ve been in pain for 3 months!”

“where’s the pain?”

“My hamstring, right under my butt” (NOTE: I met these people an hour before this conversation — NO SHAME!)

Luckily they didn’t mind, and told me that I had built up scar tissue because I hadn’t really bothered with my hammie after the half marathon.  I have to break up the scar tissue (from the small tear I probably have) by having Kellen work a cup-shaped ice cube into my leg HARD after each run.   I’m freezing in the water today.

ANYWAY, I also ate some food yesterday.  Breakfast was a almond butter and honey covered berry waffle!

After this coffee I had a few minutes before my meeting so I ran to Starbucks and got a small coffee with soy milk.  Delish!

Lunch was mongolian, as I said.  No pictures!

Dinner was pretty awesome, especially for not planning it ahead.  We had lime-ginger salmon and chicken (I had salmon, Kellen had chicken) with creamy spinach smashed potatoes and a side salad with sesame dressing.

The marinade for the chicken and salmon was pretty easy.  In a bowl mix the following:

  • soy sauce
  • juice of 1 lime
  • Tbs of honey
  • Tbs of grated ginger

Then I stuck the meat it in and grilled it up.  In the last few moments of grilling I poured on what was left of the marinade.  It got all caramelized and wonderful.

The smashed potatoes were equally easy.  I nuked about 8 small red potatoes then smashed them with a smasher along with the following:

  • three giant handfuls of baby spinach (the heat from the potatoes makes it wilt nicely)
  • half a red onion, chopped
  • two laughing cow swiss triangles
  • a splash of almond milk
  • a pat of Earth Balance

Super easy and super delicious.

The side salad was a no-brainer.  It’s just salad.

After this amazing dinner I was obliged to have some ice cream.  Because in the summer I eat ice cream nearly every night.  At the store I was craving some strawberry ice cream HARD!  So I got some neapolitan.

Now, I really like apple crisp/pie.  But the best part of both these is the crumble/crust.  I especially like the crumble/crust with ice cream.  So I’ve started just making a quick crumble to top my ice cream.  I mix a spoonful of brown sugar, two spoonfuls of oats, and a pat of Earth Balance.  That gets nuked and I put the ice cream on top of it.  It’s the best ice cream topping ever!

Ahh, it feels good to blog again!  Sorry again for the absence, friends!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Look At Me!

  1. highonhealthy

    You are a freaking genius (which I obviously am not seeing as I spelled it as jeanous…)! I love the idea of making a kind of crumble for my ice cream.

    Do you think you’ll be trying out the icecube thing?

  2. Thanks! That topping is the best! You have to try it! I am going to do the ice cube thing after my run tomorrow. I think it’ll hurt, but I’ll let you know 🙂

Leave a Reply

