Get Your Green On

I’m on the green monster train (read more about it at greenmonstermovement.com)!  If you have time in the morning, a juicer and/or blender, and a desire to have 89 oz of liquid in your tummy by 6:30 in the morning then give this a go.

These photos were all taken with my iPhone.  You’re going to hate the quality.

I’ve started making juice each morning.  Kellen drinks his and I mix mine with handfuls of spinach and frozen berries in the blender.  Here is how it goes down:

I pick and choose from a massive fruit/veg stash the things that strike my fancy for that day.  It’s fun to announce to Kellen each morning what this morning’s juice is made from.

This morning’s juice had:

  • 1 kiwi
  • 3 stalks of celery
  • 3 apples
  • 3 oranges
  • 3 carrots
  • 1 pear

I make juice for two so if you’re mate doesn’t dig mounds of fruit that early you can just halve the amount.

Put the whole lot through your juicer.

This week I found a tropical frozen mix of mango, strawberry and banana at Whole Foods.  I mix about 5 pieces of whatever frozen fruit/berry mix I have on hand with 2-3 cups (2 heavy handfuls) of spinach and half the juice.

What’s green, red, and goes 70 mph — I frog in a blender! Har Har.  I know. That was in poor taste.

Put the whole thing in a glass and drink up.

I sometimes get hungry if I only drink a green monster for breakfast so I also ate a blueberry waffle with almond butter and a coffee with soy milk.

If you are still skeptical about this juice QUIT!  It is a miracle.  I have literally had half of my class out sick in the past two weeks with all sorts of illnesses and I have dodged every one.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

